Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Let's Discuss Wheels for our Whips........ I Have Some Questions......

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2018, 06:09 PM
dukmon
Rennlist Member

Received 173 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Let's Discuss Wheels for our Whips........ I Have Some Questions......

Now that I've handled some issues and made sure maintenance is up to date and have become comfortable with my car mechanically, I think I'd like to buy aftermarket wheels.

A little about myself and wheels....

I've been driving since 1983........ and have had my share of vehicles during that time. During that long period, I've never once wanted to change the stock wheels on any of my vehicles. And honestly, I really like the looks of the 17" cups that are on my car.

There are three wheel types I like. Two are similar and one is completely different. They are the BBS E28, E88 and fifteen52 2 piece Outlaw 001's. My preference is in that order too, with 17" being the diameter I'd purchase. Seems to be the sweet spot for several reasons.

I seek the following knowledge....... and truly appreciate guidance.

a) Are any of the BBS wheels not suitable for daily driving? Some of the roads here is South Carolina can be unkind. I believe I recall in the recent past someone commenting one type is mostly a lightweight track wheel, but I could not find that comment again to confirm after searching.
b) Is there any significant weight savings with any of these over the 17" Cups? If so, how much savings? More importantly, are any of them heavier than the Cups?
c) What is the width and offset of the Cup wheels? I'd like to maintain that size when buying aftermarket wheels and do not wish to use spacers or necessarily take a sellers word that "yeah man, they'll work."
d) It's my understanding that the E28's are no longer produced. Where are my best avenues of locating some? What classifieds or enthusiast boards do I visit?