964 Scam?
I'll have to appologize for editing (deleting) my original post. It turns out that I had some misleading info on my original post and I did not want to accuse someone of something they did not do.
First off, I am not selling my car.
To All interested (if anyone!):
To clarify, someone used photos of my car that are on www.964Registry.com to represent their car on eBay and also used these same photos to present their car to a legitimate auto broker in Oregon.
A buyer from another state contacted me because he saw these photos on eBay and at this Oregon broker's website. He also remembered seeing the same photo's on 964Registry.com. He put 2 + 2 together, found my name on the 964Registry.com site, looked me up in the phone book and called me thinking my car was for sale.
It all was very confusing. I spoke with the broker who was very nice and seems legitimate. I also spoke with the private party who inquired on my car. He was another innocent bystander just trying to find a nice 964. All three of us were misled because this seller was using my photos to represent his car and my photos were showing up on the broker's site, eBay and on 964Registry.com.
So, as you can tell from the eBay auction listed above, this auction (with my car's photo) didn't have any bidding or transactions taking place. BUT, as always, buyer beware. The car in the picture was not the actual item for sale.
While it's not illegal to copy or download non-copywrited photos from the internet, I just think it's a bit stupid to use someone else's photos to sell your car. It's a small world. A few quick phone calls on my part lined things up in a hurry. It's amazing who knows who.
Jay
).Oh, and that person selling "your car" did a lousy job of marketing. Not a single bid! People should have been all over a car as nice as your own (oops, there I go again with the
).
When the gentleman called about my car yesterday and went on about paying $200 to secure the car and then stating it was on eBay and another site, etc. etc., it caused me some initial concern! I was wondering when the flat bed was going to show up and haul my car away!!!
You can't trust anyone these days!
Little did he know he caused me a bunch of long distance phone calls to Oregon (including an Oregon police department who helped sort things out with the broker), lost time at work, confused a potential buyer of his car, pissed me off, and irritated the broker he was working with. All over 3 stupid pictures.
I learned my lesson too.
Jay
90 964
Whats up with the western union type of payment, with specifics to "No Paypal". Am looking to buy a trailer in NC and those are his terms
Maybe it's simply a matter of avoiding the charge. In any event, you'll want to leave yourself some options, as Ruairidh suggests.
BTW, OTEcupracer, can we get a pic of your 964? Is this one of those Steve Patti imports?
The Best Porsche Posts for Porsche Enthusiasts
John,
Whats up with the western union type of payment, with specifics to "No Paypal". Am looking to buy a trailer in NC and those are his terms
But take care on this deal. When a seller makes it difficult to pay then ask questions. Have you tried the "I'll come over (send my local friend over) with cash" yet? Have you spoken on the phone yet?
What is the feedback rating of this seller?
Good Luck,
John



