Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Just got an M-Tune

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2015, 12:41 AM
KaiKai951S
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got an M-Tune

Just got my M-Tune from Lindsey, any install advice? I have an '88 Turbo S. I have done engine swaps on my old BMW 2002, and some mid level repair work as a mechanic in college. As an Computer Engineer I feel confident doing the wiring portion but is there more to the install? Should I take it to a shop or is this something that can be done in the Garage? Let me know your experiences. Thanks guys

Kai
Old 06-14-2015, 01:10 AM
gruhsy
Drifting

Received 51 Likes on 38 Posts

Make sure your DME harness does not already have a jumper wire attached from the factory.

You received a jumper in the M-tune kit that is a orange. The factory jumper location is right where the DME harness connects to the DME.

I recently posted about this if you want to read about it.

I set mine to run tune 5 but was actually running in tune 6 Valet mode which cuts boost at 5 psi. This of course was due to the factory jumper wire which was on California and Japan cars from what I read.

Also get a wide band O2 sensor if you don't have one already.

When you install all the plumbing don't tighten everything since you will need to find what orientation all of your components are going to sit in.

Take very accurate measurements for the 90 degree silicone hoses that tie to the blow off valve.

If you measure voltages on the MAP sensor, do it with all wires connected and slide a pointy multi meter lead along the wire at the male connection on the map sensor. The 3 wire male plug of the connector has space between weather proof cover and wire to do this.
Old 06-14-2015, 06:07 AM
KaiKai951S
Instructor

Gruhsy, Thanks for the reply but I am more curious of whether I should send it to my P car shop, or something I can do over a weekend.

No intention of getting an 02.