Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

951 Engine Rebuild - Nikasil plated cylinder walls

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2013, 09:34 PM
Greendomize
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 951 Engine Rebuild - Nikasil plated cylinder walls

Before I begin talking about the rebuild, I figured that I would go ahead and introduce myself to Rennlist as I don’t think that I’ve really done so yet. My name is Ben. I’ve been using Rennlist off and on for a few years now. I bought my 86’ 944 Turbo back in early 2009 when I was still in high school. When I bought my car it was advertised as being in very good mechanical condition, just having all the belts replaced, only 10,000 miles on the new clutch, and inspected by a 30+ year experience Porsche technician of which he made sure to note that apparently the turbo was in the best condition that the technician had ever seen. The car made plenty of power and drove fine when I went to check it out, but then again I was just a stupid, naive teenager at that time so what did I know. I paid $6,800 for the car thinking that I was buying a reliable 951 as there were definitely cheaper ones that I could have gotten at the time, but boy was I wrong. Anyway, I found out soon that pretty much all of this was entirely inaccurate. The car was burning oil almost at the rate that it went through gasoline. So…

Here are results from my compression test: (The engine has 160K miles on it)
Cyl 1: 130
Cyl 2: 85 (60% leakage)
Cyl 3: 130
Cyl 4: 130