Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Catalytic Install

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2013, 12:24 AM
BTERRY951
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Catalytic Install

picked up a Cat thanks to a Rennlist member here locally. Am I kidding myself to think I can install this just using jack stands? I am not worried about seized bolts as things were just professionally reassembled two weeks ago. I am comfortable underneath on my back doing the rod bearings this way in an old NA of mine, but can I physically get to the bolts that i need to get to from this position from the bottom only? be nice, I'm a rookie to turbos
Old 03-02-2013, 01:21 AM
Tom M'Guinn

Rennlist Member

Received 535 Likes on 287 Posts

Yes, no problem. The factory cat is heavy, so a helper would be good, but you can also rest the end of the cat on a jack stand as you undo the front part of it.
Old 03-02-2013, 01:30 AM
BTERRY951
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

thanks. i was worried about being able to reach the bolts at the front end where it curves up toward the turbo.
Old 03-02-2013, 02:31 AM
Crazy Eddie

Rennlist Member

Received 69 Likes on 52 Posts

Originally Posted by BTERRY951
thanks. i was worried about being able to reach the bolts at the front end where it curves up toward the turbo.
you will just need a extension with a wobble to remove the (3) 15mm nuts
I must say thank to advice from a friend on this board
I bought these ... best money I ever spent PERIOD
http://www.ultimategarage.com/shop/p...tl933fmp6luop1
I know they are very expensive but trust me they are worth every penny and more ...
Its hard to put a value on your life ... if ya know what I mean
Regards
Ed
Old 03-02-2013, 11:26 AM
numbskull
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts