Notices

sds standalone easy to use and set up on 951?

 
Old 08-20-2011, 10:08 AM
  #1  
jss
User
Thread Starter
 
jss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 572
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sds standalone easy to use and set up on 951?

I like to do standalone but dont want a laptop version that I need to quit work to invest time to understand tune it

I was thinking the EM3e
jss is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 10:47 AM
  #2  
333pg333
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
333pg333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,499
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Why do you want standalone then? Not that there's anything wrong with it but you can get decent performance without it too.
333pg333 is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:00 AM
  #3  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i agree with pat,

Theres nothing wrong with some of the chip sets, Vittesse also have the piggy back and you can tune timing and fuel mixtures.

never heard of SDS but id use A'PEXi power FC since it has a quite nice user hand controller if you dont want a laptop.
Paulyy is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:22 AM
  #4  
theedge
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
theedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 14,242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

SDS will work, but doesnt really give you anything over the stock DME/KLR. IMHO its a bit of a pointless standalone but thats me. And once you total up the prices, it comes to nearly the same prices as vastly superior systems like Link Storms.
theedge is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 03:54 PM
  #5  
rage2
User
 
rage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,596
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I used SDS on my old 951. It's a great beginner system to learn how to tune. It doesn't do true 3D mapping, you tune for fuel on a rpm basis, then you tune the MAP pressure "multiplier" and that's it. It's easy, and a great way to learn how to tune.

As theedge says, there's much better systems out there for same or cheaper than SDS, which is quite expensive for what you get. Only reason I chose them back then was because they were local to me.
rage2 is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 03:57 PM
  #6  
schip43
User
 
schip43's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 1,430
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by theedge View Post
SDS will work, but doesnt really give you anything over the stock DME/KLR. IMHO its a bit of a pointless standalone but thats me. And once you total up the prices, it comes to nearly the same prices as vastly superior systems like Link Storms.
http://www.sdsefi.com/specific.html
+1 and your still going to need a crank trigger. And what kind of support can you expect?
Something that other 951 guys are running or 951 vendors supply would give you more help on here if needed.
schip43 is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 03:56 AM
  #7  
rlm328
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rlm328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,991
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

When it came time to do reference and Sync sensors you may want to consider doing a magnet set up on your cam instead of the crank shaft.
rlm328 is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 04:06 AM
  #8  
alxdgr8
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
alxdgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,615
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just get a MAF system with piggyback if you don't want to dive into the standalone world and learn how to tune.

If you want to go standalone and not have to learn to tune, there are several vendors out there that could provide you with a pretty much plug-and-play setup with a very good basemap if your mods are common, then you wouldn't have to worry about starting from scratch with a not-so-common ECU.
alxdgr8 is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:12 AM
  #9  
jss
User
Thread Starter
 
jss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 572
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the info guys
jss is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:16 PM
  #10  
George D
Super User
 
George D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tucson and Greer Arizona
Posts: 2,659
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Paulyy View Post
i agree with pat,

Theres nothing wrong with some of the chip sets, Vittesse also have the piggy back and you can tune timing and fuel mixtures.

never heard of SDS but id use A'PEXi power FC since it has a quite nice user hand controller if you dont want a laptop.
I good piggyback system, M-Tune, Vitesse, and even a "decent" chip set for your particular car will provide you with a great tune. The issues with the trigger install, wiring, and then the biggest hurdle, getting the car to run as well as the Motrinic at all engine speeds and boost levels required a big investment in time and money if you need help getting things as good as factory.

If you are building a beast, then it's worthwile. There are more issues than payback for 90% of us nutty 951 nuts.

George
George D is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:52 PM
  #11  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by George D View Post
I good piggyback system, M-Tune, Vitesse, and even a "decent" chip set for your particular car will provide you with a great tune. The issues with the trigger install, wiring, and then the biggest hurdle, getting the car to run as well as the Motrinic at all engine speeds and boost levels required a big investment in time and money if you need help getting things as good as factory.

If you are building a beast, then it's worthwile. There are more issues than payback for 90% of us nutty 951 nuts.

George
IMO like you said, if you've got a hell of an engine then yes standalone it. if its a few mods like what most people do as in new turbo, injectors and exhaust... id get a good chip set from those 2 vendors. if i've got cams headwork and some crazy stuff then standalone.
Paulyy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: