Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

LSD & tranny questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2002, 08:47 PM
Damien Cort
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post LSD & tranny questions

I'm a bit new to 951s at the moment, I want one, and am in the process of doing my homework. I have a couple of questions:

1. Did all 951s come with lsds? If not, which ones and which years?

2. Is the 951 tranny (l16r) a 5spd manual, or a 4spd w/ OD? Also, what kind of power can it take?

Thanks for any input.
Old 01-14-2002, 08:52 PM
adrial
Nordschleife Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1988 951S's and 1989 951's came with LSD stock, along with an oil cooler. (89 951 same as 88 951S, minus the S)

'86 came with oil cooler standard.
all other cars oil cooler & LSD were options..

951 tranny can take a lot of power...the big hp guys have been running 400-500RWHP without tranny problems as far as i know...

It's a 5 speed manual...
Old 01-14-2002, 08:55 PM
Tom Pultz
Addict
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 97 Likes on 82 Posts
Originally posted by Damien Cort:
1. Did all 951s come with lsds? If not, which ones and which years?
You can't separate them by years. All you can be sure of is that all '88 944 Turbo S and all '89 944 Turbo cars came with LSD. For others, check for option code 220. Most of them did NOT have LSD.
2. Is the 951 tranny (l16r) a 5spd manual, or a 4spd w/ OD?
It's a 5 speed, but 5th is an overdrive gear with a 0.82 ratio as I recall.
Also, what kind of power can it take?
Enough
Old 01-14-2002, 10:21 PM
Damien Cort
AutoX

Cool, thanks for the replies!
Old 01-14-2002, 11:28 PM
Luke
Nordschleife Master

Originally posted by Tom Pultz:
<STRONG>
Enough </STRONG>

Sheeeesh!! tell that to my tranny! I knocked several teeth of my second gear.

call me odd.....but I perfer the open diff's any way~
Old 01-15-2002, 12:02 AM
Jeremy Martin
Racer

just fyi, my 86' 944 turbo has LSD and an oil cooler
Old 01-15-2002, 12:32 AM
Danno
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts