Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Exhaust Manifold Leak

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2002, 12:40 AM
Brian Beaulieu
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Exhaust Manifold Leak

I'm really new to this however I have a lot of motivation.
The syptoms that make me believe the problem is with the exhaust manifold is while the car is running exhaust comes from the engine compartment.. both when driving and at a stand still. It just dribbles out when it's stopped..

Looking at the engine it was clear that it was coming from one of the 4 pipes coming off of the engine block. It's been quite a while since I looked at the problem so I'm not sure which one it is anymore.

I have a few questions..

1) I've been told that there's an updated bellowed version of the manifold. On mine, the pipe closest to the front of the car (1 or 4) has an accordian style section. That's the only part. I'd expect the other pipes to have it as well if I had the updated version on the car.

2) Is the updated version similar to my description or does it sound like I have the original?

3) Is the connection at the bottom of the .. heading towards the turbocharger.. the same on the original and updated versions?

There's a used exhaust manifold for sale on eBay which i'm considering.. since it'd be a cheap way to test this theory. I'd order new gaskets from a local dealer.

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1818245557&r=0&t=0" target="_blank">Exhaust manifold on eBay</a>

Anyone have an opinion on whether or not this replacement would be compatible?

Thanks for your help..

Brian
Old 04-10-2002, 01:20 AM
951and944S
Race Car

Received 65 Likes on 56 Posts
Brian, ther are also gaskets at the cylinder head, wher the manifolds connect for each cylinder, have you checked these..

I haven't tried, specificly on 944's but on other type cars this works to find leaks in the exhaust.