Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Expert needed, 951 rev limited at 1500 RPM

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2010, 03:14 PM
joecitizennn
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Expert needed, 951 rev limited at 1500 RPM

I have had 944s for years, but I am new to the 951. I recently had a short in the number 2 injector wire, and at the same time the car stopped revving past 1500 rpm. I fixed the injector wire and the car runs very smoothly now, but still I have the same problem with a rev limit of 1500 rpm. The problem may be totally unrelated to the injector wire shorting.

If you unplug the throttle position sensor the car will rev and drive down the road fine, but with a high idle speed when sitting still. Plug the TPS back in and the idle drops to normal, but the car again has a rev limit of 1500 RPM. What is the problem?
Old 08-24-2010, 03:30 PM
minho78
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

TPS
Old 08-24-2010, 03:48 PM
reno808
Rennlist Member

TPS is the problem
Old 08-25-2010, 01:49 PM
joecitizennn
Instructor

Yeah, that is what I was thinking. My car was flashing a 3-3 trouble code, and if you unplugged the TPS it flashed a 4-1 then a 3-3 which points to the TPS. Thanks for the input. Where is the best place to get a TPS or can they be repaired?
Old 08-25-2010, 04:27 PM
minho78
Burning Brakes

I got mine from Pelican, but you can getthem from most vendors.
Old 09-01-2010, 04:12 PM
joecitizennn
Instructor

It was a micro-switch inside the TPS. The switch told the computer when the throttle was shut. Inside a pin holding a spring broke and the switch was stuck on. When the switch is on and the engne revvs the computer thinks the throttle is still closed and as a safety feature is rev limited to 1600 rpm. I fixed the switch and it works very well.
Old 09-01-2010, 04:20 PM
quinnfiske
Pro