Vitesse MAF with no chips

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2008, 10:28 AM
tjbreen
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Vitesse MAF with no chips

I purchased a Stage II Vitesse MAF that was supposed to include "the chips that came with it". After consulting with Vitesse, these chips turned out to be useless.

John gave me two options, sell the unit and start again or buy a new $800 chip. I also spoke to Russell Berry at MAX HP and without a dyno to tune it on, he can not make a chip either.

I was hoping the listers would have some ideas of what I could do with it or maybe someone would be interested in buying it. I have no experience with MAF units and was looking for a plug and play installation for my stock '87.
Old 04-02-2008, 10:40 AM
cruise98
Three Wheelin'

Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts

If you still have the factory waste gate and boost control, I would sell the VR MAF and buy a used APE MFS for plug and play. If you have another type of boost control and wastegate setup, buy the chip board from VR and call it a lesson learned.
Old 04-02-2008, 10:45 AM
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 37 Likes on 27 Posts

To clarify! The used parts (represented as Vitesse MAF kit) were purchased used and not purchased from Vitesse!
Old 04-02-2008, 11:37 AM
Jfrahm
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 112 Likes on 100 Posts

I have a late-DME 928 pin) MAF chip from RacerX that is supposed to work well with stock injectors but not with oversized ones, it has FQS settings for 55lb injectors but I was told those settings did not work. Long story. I bought it from the person who was trying to get it working with 55lb injectors and eventually gave up, lacking support. This was back when I was looking to build a 3.0T for my S2 cab and I was going to use a MAF, and a MAFterburner. I never got the MAF plumbing and have never tried it. I have a MAFterburner though.