How to Replace a Voltage Regulator in a 951

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2008, 03:19 AM
Loquat15
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to Replace a Voltage Regulator in a 951

Very Carefully!

Problem: Battery gauge is either showing 12 or less than 12 volts or goes between 14 volts and 12 volts. I noticed that my headlights were dim and battery gauge was at about 11 volts, i reved the engine quickly to about 4.5krpm and the battery voltage gauge was at about 14v and eventually dropped down to 12v and slowly dropped until i'd rev it up again.

$25~ Dollar Solution: Replace Voltage regulator (price is from autozone, I bought mine for $16, I work in a shop, pelican wants something like $70 or so)

$150+ Solution: Replace Alternator

How to replace voltage regulator without removing the alternator:
(this is all from memory)

***WARNING: Be sure to disconnect battery. You have little room to work with so you might cut the backs of your hands on the plastic ducting for the alternator.***
Removal:
1. Disconnect battery
2. Remove air filter box (with attached afm)
3. Remove intercooler-to-throttlebody piping
4. Remove nuts that hold the plastic air ducting to alternator (1/4 drive ratchet with a swivel joint will most likely need to be used,(you can get away with removing 3, the top two and bottom drivers side, be careful as to not damage the plastic piece, if you break off a corner it'd most likely still be useable) NOTE: After you pull the ducting back, be careful as to not drop anything into the ducting, you might have one heck of a time recovering whatever falls in there.
5. Remove nut and red wire from the positive terminal on alternator
6. Remove two screws (blade/flat tip style) that hold Voltage Regulator on (you will need a stubby screwdriver or a screw driver that has a flexible shaft)