Coolant smell only on heavy acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2006, 08:14 AM
mikebarton
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant smell only on heavy acceleration

Hey guys,
I am having a burning coolant smell/ exhaust smell only under heavy acceleration. when the turbo kicks in or over 3000 rpms and accel fast/full accel. NO smoke, no mixing of coolant and oil, dipstick fine, coolant fine. not losing coolant.car runs great, no messy idle when starting. WHAT IS THIS SMELL coming from? ANY ideas? heater core? heater control valve(not even sure where those two things are)? I need ideas. I am praying its not a head gasket going.......thanks for any advice on what to look at...I am new to 944 turbo's so not real sure where to start looking. 1986 944 turbo. comp stock(for now)
Mike
Old 05-13-2006, 09:08 AM
Bill N
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

For me, it was head gasket. Hope you have better luck!
Old 05-13-2006, 09:53 AM
mikebarton
Intermediate

bill N , were your symtoms the exact same as mine? any differences?
Old 05-13-2006, 11:08 AM
eclou
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1,220 Likes on 597 Posts

headgasket is on the way out. Trust us
Old 05-13-2006, 01:13 PM
lart951
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 93 Likes on 55 Posts

I had the same symptoms and indeed was my head gasket. At first it was the smell until one day coolant Poured out of my tail pipe, the next day I tried to turn the engine on but the # 4 cylinder was Hydro locked.
Old 05-13-2006, 01:15 PM
lart951
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Btw, how many miles on the car and where are you located?
Old 05-13-2006, 01:39 PM
Tom M'Guinn

Rennlist Member

Received 534 Likes on 287 Posts