Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

87 turbo gas milage and AC question

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2005, 04:37 PM
tammons
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 turbo gas milage and AC question

I am new to the 951 so excuse the ignorance please.

First off I drive like a maniac, and I am getting 10 miles to the gallon in the city.

Is this normal ??

When I blast down the on ramp getting on the interstate and see some black smoke out the back so I know its rich at full boost.

My car also starts rough then smooths out, and has a tendecy to break up at full boost over 4000 rpm. 2000 miles on wires, cap and rotor, and plugs. At first I thought this might be lack of fuel, now I am thinking its too rich.

I dont know what has been done to it as far as chips, injectors, etc, but it is a real rocket. I was keeping up with a ferrarri today and he did not look too happy. I gave him a thumbs up. Beautiful car though.

Also my AC is blowing the fuse. Is this a common problem related to something stupid, or could it just be the compressor clutch pulling to many amps. It blew the recommended 7.5 fuse and then a bigger 10 amp fuse.
Old 03-27-2005, 06:19 PM
bearone
Three Wheelin'

if you have your foot in it all the time mileage will suffer.

if you wanted good mileage many non p-cars come to mind.

sounds rich.

don't put a higher rated fuse than it calls for. the fuse is a protection device.

have you checked hi/low pressures?
if freon/134 is low the low pressure switch keeps the system from working.

the compressor could be dying and seizing up.
Old 03-27-2005, 06:26 PM
Rob951
Advanced

Yeah, when on boost you'll be able to pass everything but the gas station. And seeing as our cars don't drink water, it's premium only, which means uber $$$. Don't drive on boost all the time and you'll notice better mpg. But then, really, what fun is that??
Old 03-27-2005, 06:45 PM
bearone
Three Wheelin'

i ran 87 in my dead "s" with 10.9 compression and it ran/started fine.