Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Some Questions (I'm new to these cars)

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2004, 05:21 PM
89PorscheTurboMobile
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some Questions (I'm new to these cars)

Hi,

First) I just installed some new Koni Yellow shocks on the back of my 951, each of the shocks have a black mark on the bottom of half of the shock, and I planted the shocks so the the black marks face the front of the car, is this okay?
Does orientation matter?

Second) I'm in the process of changing my oil with Mobil 1 15w50, where can I get the crush washer for the drain plug from? What's the specific size of that crush washer?

Third) What's the Best brand oil filter I should get from any Napa/Autozone/Kragen (Please specify which of the three)

Fourth) I am installing an aftermarket temp sender for my Autometer gauge, and I took out the goosneck where the bleeder screw is so I can drill a hole inside it. While I was removing it, the gasket managed to rip apart, I was wondering if I could use some Hi temp RTV Silicone Gasket Maker in place of that gasket..

Fifth) What's the best coolant to use in a 50/50 mix with distilled water?
And, regarding Water Wetter, how much Water Wetter do I put into my system if I fill it with the 50/50 mix?

Sixth) What's the best kind of oil for me to use, it's very hot this time of year, I have a leaking oil pan gasket, and I want the best performance driving I can get. Is Mobil 1 10w40 thicker oil than 15w50? Because that 10w40 leaks a lot...

Thanks and take care.
Old 09-03-2004, 05:40 PM
SamGrant951
Race Director

Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts

15w50 is heavier.

I use 1 bottle of water wetter.

I only buy filters from Paragon Products (MAHLE)
Old 09-03-2004, 05:42 PM
Jeremy Himsel
Addict
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by 89PorscheTurboMobile
Hi,