Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Restoring Cloudy/Sandblasted Fog Light Lenses

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2004, 05:31 PM
KLR
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Restoring Cloudy/Sandblasted Fog Light Lenses

Has anyone found a good approach to making 100K+ mile fog light lenses look better? I haven't seen anything in the archives on this, but I was looking at a couple of 3M plastic polishing products while I was in an autoparts store today and wondered whether they'd have any effect.

Does anyone have any experience with this?
Old 03-03-2004, 07:42 PM
KuHL 951
Hey Man
Rennlist Member

Received 184 Likes on 109 Posts

I've been using the Novus plastic polishes for over 15 years on everything from tailights to soft convertible top windows...nothing compares to it. It comes in stepped grades and will make the lens like new. Here's a link:

http://www.novuspolish.com

Steve
Old 03-03-2004, 07:49 PM
Sufnituning
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think the lenses is made out of glass :-)
Old 03-03-2004, 08:05 PM
KuHL 951
Hey Man
Rennlist Member

Received 184 Likes on 109 Posts

I think he means the outer covers which are plastic, yes the actual lens are glass but they won't last long without the protective covers.
Old 03-03-2004, 08:44 PM
Peckster
Nordschleife Master

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Whatever, if he has rock guard already he should just replace it. If not, he can add new rock guard, it will look shiny. Paragon sells it.

Life is too short to try to polish glass lenses.
Old 03-05-2004, 10:26 AM
KLR
Rennlist Member