List of common parts to replace on 87' 944 turbo

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2019, 03:49 PM
Kenneth Booher
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default List of common parts to replace on 87' 944 turbo

Hi!
I have just recently purchased a 1987 944 turbo and was looking to see if anyone had a list of specific parts I should replace?
I will be doing the repairs myself, and would love any advice. The engine is fairly clean, has 114k miles on it, and starts right up. I've been told that I should replace the belts, water pump, etc...
I am just not sure which belts as this is my first attempt at reparations on any vehicle and am not very familiar with the part and such.
I would love any tips or advice anybody has to share!
Thanks a million!

Old 05-16-2019, 05:05 PM
MAGK944
Nordschleife Master

Received 298 Likes on 231 Posts

Congratulations! Is that the car with the blown head gasket that you posted about previously?

As to maintenance, I’ll repeat what’s been stated hundreds of times on this forum. If you have no records when they were last done you should look at replacing the balance belt, cam belt, all the rollers that the belts ride on (including the water pump) and all the seals at the front of the engine. You should also replace the two fuel lines and jumper line on the fuel rail and change the spark plugs, fuel and engine oil filters, replace the engine oil and the transmission oil.

You can find how to do everything on Clark’s Garage under the link “Garage Shop Manual” on the left sidebar.
Old 05-17-2019, 01:55 AM
Humboldtgrin
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts