Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Wastegate / boost bolt question and MAF and MAP thought.

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2004, 05:44 PM
Highlander944
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wastegate / boost bolt question and MAF and MAP thought.

Ok I'm new to this... trying to understand how exacly some of these tweaks to the Porsche 944 Turbo really work.

** Wastgate and Boost bolt questions **

Ok concerning the Wastgate shims and boost bolt. As I under stand this, the boost bolt allows a certain amount of air bleedoff around the turbo. The size of this hole controls the 'max boost' setpoint. The wastgate is a device which bleeds off excess pressure.

Now if you put a boost bolt into the car which doesn't 'open' till max boost is obtiained (some kind of spring loaded needle that could be adjusted by a threaded bolt) then the only reason to shim the wastgate would be if max boost can not be obtained. Is this correct thinking? Furthermore, if you 'messed up' the boost bolt so that it was set to 20psi or something, would the wastgate 'save' your car? It would see best to have a 'matching' configuration. Perhaps the wastgate set a few psi higher than standard boost.

So how good or bad is this thinking?

** MAF and MAP questions **

Ok now for my MAF and MAP thought. If I am thinking correctly the turbo 'rams' air into the engine. The standard Air flow sensor is restrictive. So the turbo has to overcome the mechanical device used to sence air flow. So if you put a MAP or MAF sysetm into your car, it would seem reasonable that this system does not 'dampen' the air raming effect of the turbo, thus allowing for 'full boost'.

Is it reasonable to think that 'over boosting' the stock air flow sensor should accomplish the same result less the responsiveness as the other less restrictive methods? IE, the 'boost correct' for having to push the mechanical gate open is... XXX??

Thanks for your help,

Peter