944-inexperienced with the art of the porsche

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2005, 02:42 AM
spedracer18
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 944-inexperienced with the art of the porsche

hello

i purchased a 1983 porsche n/a recently and have begun restoring it. Dont get me wrong, i am no mechanic, actually im studying to be an engineer, but a friend is helping me with the mechanics side of things. the car was in bad shape when first bought. it wouldnt start and the interior is torn to hell. so far we have gotten it started on several occasions (seems to be a problem with the ignition switch? nothing happens when the key is turned...currently we start it by jump starting the solenoid). we are in the process of wiring a push button ignition in it. compression test showed low end compression but nothing below 145 (anyone know normal values?). new disb. cap, rotor, plugs, and magnecor wires. currently have Mann oil, fuel filters, a K&N air filter with adapter, auto tranny filter, water pump, thermo, cam and balance shaft belts, weltmeister throttle response. ready to do oil change to mobil 1 5w-30 super-syn (mn winter) and raidator, brake system flush.

my questions lie in the following:
should pulleys be replaced with belts?
what kind of suspension upgrades are there for the 83 944 na?
what kind of brake up grades are there?
where would i find body upgrades like body kits and such?
what governs priority first?
is it possible to run a mild or performance cam in this model? if so where do i find one?
my sunroof/moonroof is manual, is it possible to upgrade to automatic?
do they make a performance chip for this model? i have seen them for the 86 and ups but not for this model.
any rim suggestions? other model porsche rims that fit 83 944?
anyone convert to dual exhaust? mechanic friend says they did half the work for you by having the exhaust manifold the way they do.
what other maintence should be done prior to driving.