944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

New Year’s project for my 84 944, looking for some help/advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2020, 10:53 AM
rg0115
Pro

Received 62 Likes on 42 Posts
Default New Year’s project for my 84 944, looking for some help/advice

Happy New Year everyone. Looking for some help and advice, I am a modest weekend mechanic but not afraid to try anything. My new year’s resolution was to spend more time addressing issues with my 84 944 and use it over the winter month. The car has been in storage but I got her back out a few weeks ago. I also have a 993 but I try not to drive her once the first salt is on the road. I have a few projects planned for that car as well, but that is after I get the 944 back on the road.

The reason the 944 was in storage for so long was that I couldn’t find a glass shop in town that wanted to touch the rear hatch glass that was separating from the frame. All the shops I talked to were fearful of breaking it so they didn’t want to touch it. Anyway, I decided to do it myself. So far it’s holding, not what you call professional but hopefully, it will hold. Here are few pics of that repair.

I also addressed my rear CV joints and noticed that my transmission seal was leaking, so hopefully, when I drop the trans to address the clutch there is a seal I can buy and address it at that point. If anyone knows the part number, that would be great.

My e-brake was not working when I bought the car and I finally got a chance to look at it. Turns out it was a much easier fix than I anticipated. This spring release button that release the brake came of the little latch/lock mechanism and was pretty easy to put back together.