944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

944 Wont Start (no crank)

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2019, 01:54 PM
Aaron George
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 944 Wont Start (no crank)

Hey folks... Im stumped. I have an 85' 944 that wont start. It has recently been running great, no problems. But when I went to start it today, I got nothing. When I turn the key, all the warning lights come on, radio and other instruments come on. But when I try to start the car, I get nothing. It doesnt crank, no clicks, no life at all. I'm a beginner, so not sure where to start. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 10-14-2019, 09:55 PM
Dan Martinic
Drifting

Received 157 Likes on 131 Posts

Open the hood and check the battery connections; one of them may have gotten loose

If not, turn on the headlights. Are they on and bright? If so, try starting while your buddy stares at the lights. Do they dim or go out completely?

The above is to test for battery issue. Hey.. it's caught me once or twice over the years
Old 10-15-2019, 12:17 PM
Swenny
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

A habit that I've gotten into is to clean the battery posts/cables every couple of oil changes. Check your battery with a multimeter-a fully charged 12 volt should have about 12.6 volts and the charging battery should be receiving at least 13.5 volts. Check and fill the cells with distilled water. I've read others that have had trouble with the ignition switch and that's a inexpensive fix(Clark's Garage will most likely have a write up)Check your grounds,there are a bunch and there is a diagram online with all of them-clean and secure the area/ bolts.
Old 10-16-2019, 10:21 AM
T&T Racing
Drifting

Received 345 Likes on 274 Posts

Originally Posted by Aaron George