Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

My Megasquirt 3X conversion

 
Old 11-01-2011, 06:44 PM
  #46  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

could you not use a new syle S3-S4 style throttle body, in place of the stock one?
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:25 PM
  #47  
wildwestsydney
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: south shore MA
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Very nice coil brackets! It looks like you have access to a water jet? Very nice work! I am deffinately going to COP at some point.

Sam
wildwestsydney is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:40 PM
  #48  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Ducman - never even thought that way. I figured I would need to keep the stock Euro S throttle body because of the cable linkages for the trans, gas pedal, and cruise control. Just wanted to make things as simple and clean as possible with mostly stock parts for this car. Being Euro S, I'm sure I'll have enough airflow with this intake/throttle body for my driving style.
Thanks Sam.
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:07 PM
  #49  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Finally got to the point on the engine conversion where I can now focus on the wiring harnesses. Both the new one for the engine, and reworking the engine bay harness to eliminate unneeded wires and add in new circuits. Some small details are shown in the pics - things I thought others might like to know for their conversion.
The TPS blade I made drives the Ford TPS which has an internal spring to keep it tight to the blade. Since the TPS had more than 90deg of movment, I got the blade clocked in the butterfly shaft so the TPS is not quite at zero, marked the location, then ground a small flat on the blade stub, and a groove inside the hole in the butterfly shaft using a Dremel bit. This will create a formed-in-place key when the JB Weld epoxy cures. During MS3 setup, you have to calibrate your TPS for 0-100% open, so I figured it would be good to not be at the slack end of the TPS motion. I haven't tested the TPS voltage yet, but mechanically it works great. When the throttle body is installed, the TPS is a close fit to the new IAC hose and oil separator vent hose, but luckily I planned for this, and it fits nice! On a roll now, got the extruded fuel rails marked, drilled and tapped, and trial fitted on the engine. All my brackets I have made still need to be plated, so will have to disassemble at some point, but good to have all together right now for the wiring to be started. The yellow injectors in the pics are 19# just there for test fitting, I'll be using the 24# injectors when final install happens.
Also set the crank and cam trigger wheel timing tonight - it has been a long time coming and glad I did it now or I could have forgot easily. Following the MS manual, I set the crank trigger at 40deg BTDC. The cam trigger should only be ~60deg BTDC, but because of where I mounted the cam sensor and the holes in the cam gear, it ended up at 105deg. I think this will be ok be setting the degree # in the software.
A couple overall pics show the Aeroquip AQP hoses and the FP regulator at the front. Once the fuel pressure is set, I'll remove the guage and install a plug. Now I can focus on the wiring on the engine, but will jump sideways back to the car. I finished the afternoon by working on stripping out the interior.
Attached Images        
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:23 PM
  #50  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

forgot to ask..... why are u using the CIS flow thing, and not a U bent from the throttle body? still following this with GREAT interest. i will get with you on coil brackets soon.
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:30 PM
  #51  
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User
 
Imo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21,234
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Are those fuel rail brackets strong enough to keep the injectors in place when the line pressure is up?
Imo000 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:33 PM
  #52  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Duc, If you mean the lower air plenum the throttle body sits on, Just because? I want to keep the stock airbox and intake look, and it seemed like the easiest path to take instead of hunting down different parts and combining them.
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:33 PM
  #53  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i have two simple little 1 inch by 1/8 thick alum bar holding mine down. 2 per rail. they go nowhere.
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:34 PM
  #54  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BigAl1 View Post
Duc, If you mean the lower air plenum the throttle body sits on, Just because? I want to keep the stock airbox and intake look, and it seemed like the easiest path to take instead of hunting down different parts and combining them.
Roger that!
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:35 PM
  #55  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Imre, the rails are pretty rigid now with the tie down brackets installed. I have no worries about that after test fitting!
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 10:17 PM
  #56  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Wiring for the conversion to MS3x has begun! Started with the '80 ROW Current Flow diagrams, and figured out (correctly I hope) where to change a few things in the current engine bay harness. The original coil wires, the TSZ spark box and connectors, and the 4 and 6 ohm resistors are removed. It looks like the T14-10 wire from the starter going to the now missing resistors continues to the control side of the fuel pump relay, so I pulled it back and ran it toward the CE panel. It wasn't quite long enough, so spliced it into the Q1 wire which is no longer needed (WUR and Air Valve) to get the length, then inserted my impact safety switch in this line and connected to O6 (wire #15). I plan to install it next to the MS3 box in the right side of the passenger footwell, where the emergency medical kit used to be. This is a Ford switch, and I confirmed it is NC operation, so should cause the FP relay to open in the event of an impact, preventing the fuel pump from running. Also pulled the small green wire from the TSZ (O7 on CE panel) back - this is the tach signal wire. I'll connect the MS3 medium current output for Tacho to this, and it will also control the other half of the FP relay, so if no tach signal from the computer (no signal from the crank sensor) then the fuel pump should not be running. I think there will be 1 more wire to run (MS3 #37) to control the Fuel Pump relay from the MS3 box - this should close the relay to run the pump for the programmed time before engine start. This might require all 3 control wires to have diodes installed so no weird "backflow" problems - I'll have to think about this.
Also ran most of the wires for the new EFI harness, just roughed in the lengths with extra on both ends. Of course, I realized later that I still have 9 more wires to stuff through the firewall boot hole! All my engine sensors to feed the MS3 box still to go, plus the small vacume hose for the MAP sensor in the MS3 box. I'll run a small section of hardline where it passes through the firewall boot to make sure it is not squeezed shut, causing incorrect MAP signals - that would be bad!
Attached Images    
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:46 AM
  #57  
jmartins
User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SŃo Paulo - SP - Brazil
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Very nice job ! I have one MS and I'll follow this thread in case I decide for it in the future.
jmartins is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:18 PM
  #58  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

looking good! why the crash sensor? I'm hoping to use aircraft bulkhead connectors so i don't have to feed wires... don't that way to many times...
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 10:18 PM
  #59  
BigAl1
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
BigAl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 686
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

The crash sensor is supposed to open when the G impact is high enough. I hope I have it installed correctly to control the fuel pump relay, but after studying the current diagrams for hours today, I'm not so sure. I have to do some searching and find out the function of the #15, #31, and #31b lines that go into controlling the FP relay.
BigAl1 is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 01:01 AM
  #60  
Hacker-Pschorr
Super Moderator - Cracklin' Rosie
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Hacker-Pschorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Up Nort
Posts: 10,063,039
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BigAl1 View Post
The crash sensor is supposed to open when the G impact is high enough. I hope I have it installed correctly to control the fuel pump relay, but after studying the current diagrams for hours today, I'm not so sure. I have to do some searching and find out the function of the #15, #31, and #31b lines that go into controlling the FP relay.
Send an e-mail to the address in my signature, that will get to Z (aka Mike). Same relay setup in my 81 we had to adapt for the LH/EZF conversion.

He has the diagrams on how we wired up my car.

It looks a lot more complicated than it really is, but without the diagram I'm not going to try and explain it by memory and screw up anyone.
Hacker-Pschorr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My Megasquirt 3X conversion


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: