Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Trans kickdown relay debugging

 
Old 02-26-2011, 06:00 PM
  #31  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

And..I didnt get 12v at the plug..but it was unplugged about 1/2 of an inch.


It may have gotten knocked out in the halfshaft/mount work back there, who knows.

But pulling it out to check for 12v has no resistance to removing it, but putting it back IN all the way, had resistance and a solid click.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 08:35 PM
  #32  
David L. Lutz
User
 
David L. Lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Posts: 977
Default

I know the solenoid is hard to see and I had an extra so here are a couple of pic's

This 1st pic show the male part of the connector you are pluging the single wire into.



David L. Lutz is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 09:20 PM
  #33  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

Tranny is full O fluid, and the solenoid is fully plugged in now..and if I give 12v to post 87a on the CE panel...I get clicks now.


Its the relay...darnit.
$75 from 928int.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:33 PM
  #34  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

ANyone see any issues if I removed the failed relay, and jumpered post 30 to 87a on the CD panel?

THis would trip the KD solenoid when the switch was hit..
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 05:01 PM
  #35  
Alan
Electron Wrangler
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 11,930
Default

Why do you think the relay has failed... I see no reason to assume this. Wally has already expained how the KD relay works - what you propose to do makes no sense (it just doesn't work that way - read it again). Button it up and try it as it is. If you really think the relay has failed (I think unlikely) - get another relay.

Alan
Alan is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 05:12 PM
  #36  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

I think the relay has failed, because everything else in the system works fine.

Is there a test you think that I missed?
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 05:41 PM
  #37  
RCinXS
User
 
RCinXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 393
Default

Relay is cheap. Stress medication is not.
RCinXS is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 05:44 PM
  #38  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

No stress..was fun chasing it down.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 07:16 PM
  #39  
Alan
Electron Wrangler
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 11,930
Default

Well I rather thought you said you had power at 87a - but did you just mean you manually provided power at 87a to get the solenoid to worek. KD Relay default is 30 connected to 87a - so you should be abel to test this with the relay on a bench...

If you just put a jumper in place of the relay you will get kick down initiation - but you won't get upshifts at the right point since the relay dropping out is what gives you this - and it won't ever drop out (this would be bad - you can over rev the transmission).

Just get the relay... but do check fuse 10 first....

Alan
Alan is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 07:26 PM
  #40  
yardpro
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
yardpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Morehead City NC
Posts: 1,788
Default

can you not check the relay?

look on the relay and it will have a diagram with numbers...
the two lines that go to the coil are the wires from the switch. they will energize the coil and close the circuit.

run 12v to one side of the coil, and ground the other.
this should close the contacts.. then you would have continuity between those two post.
yardpro is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 07:52 PM
  #41  
Alan
Electron Wrangler
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 11,930
Default

Originally Posted by yardpro View Post
can you not check the relay?

look on the relay and it will have a diagram with numbers...
the two lines that go to the coil are the wires from the switch. they will energize the coil and close the circuit.

run 12v to one side of the coil, and ground the other.
this should close the contacts.. then you would have continuity between those two post.
No - this relay doesn't work that way. When activated these contacts break - not make. However can be tested as I noted - to not have 12v at solenoid w/ kick-down switch active & ignition on either the relay contacts don't connect, the fuse or wiring is bad or the switch is bad...

Alan
Alan is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 07:59 PM
  #42  
yardpro
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
yardpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Morehead City NC
Posts: 1,788
Default

oh, so if it is a normally closed then the non coil posts should show continuity...then none when energized.
yardpro is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 10:33 PM
  #43  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

Originally Posted by Alan View Post
Well I rather thought you said you had power at 87a - but did you just mean you manually provided power at 87a to get the solenoid to worek. KD Relay default is 30 connected to 87a - so you should be abel to test this with the relay on a bench...

If you just put a jumper in place of the relay you will get kick down initiation - but you won't get upshifts at the right point since the relay dropping out is what gives you this - and it won't ever drop out (this would be bad - you can over rev the transmission).

Just get the relay... but do check fuse 10 first....

Alan
Fuse 10 is good, as noted, I can follow 12v from that fuse, all the way to post 30 in the CE panel...just never gets thru the relay to 87a...but if I give 87a power at the panel, the solenoid clicks.


Should have the relay on Wednesday.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 09:34 PM
  #44  
SMTCapeCod
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SMTCapeCod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mechanochondriacism
Posts: 4,625
Default

Grr...boomerang- so did the relay R&R remedy the problem?
SMTCapeCod is offline  
Old 02-14-2019, 11:56 PM
  #45  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Default

Necroposting for a local owner...

He has no kickdown action, but the circuit is fully functional, we get good click action at the solenoid.

Can it be electrically good, but mechanically broken?
Speedtoys is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Trans kickdown relay debugging


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: