Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Jumping A/C compressor ??

 
Old 06-01-2009, 04:26 PM
  #16  
Dean_Fuller
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Dean_Fuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus, Mississippi
Posts: 3,025
Default

Originally Posted by dprantl View Post
- Start the car
- While it is idling, turn on the blower inside to position '1' and feel the air temp
- Go under the hood and jumper the A/C clutch wire for 10 seconds. Don't do it any longer than this
- Disconnect the jumper, then quickly jump into the car and feel the air temp

If it is cold, then your freon level is fine and you need to track down the electrical problem.

Dan
'91 928GT S/C 475hp/460lb.ft
Just did this...no cold air. Is it safe to assume the freon has leaked out?
Dean_Fuller is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 04:33 PM
  #17  
dprantl
Super User
 
dprantl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,470
Default

Originally Posted by Dean_Fuller View Post
Just did this...no cold air. Is it safe to assume the freon has leaked out?
Yup, not enough freon in there. Is this a R134A converted system? I'm not sure I will have enough space in the car for my A/C gear but if there is some at SITM I can definitely assist. But it will not be as simple as just vacuuming the system. You will need to find the leak. Any idea when the o-rings were replaced? Or the compressor shaft seal?

Dan
'91 928GT S/C 475hp/460lb.ft
dprantl is online now  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:12 PM
  #18  
Dean_Fuller
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Dean_Fuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus, Mississippi
Posts: 3,025
Default

I have a new seal kit from months ago but did not use it because the system was holding pressure fine over night. No idea where the leak may be. I'm still running R12.
Dean_Fuller is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:19 PM
  #19  
Giovanni
Super User
 
Giovanni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,121
Default

Originally Posted by Dean_Fuller View Post
I'm still running R12.
Ooppps, sounds like its best to let a shop handle this...
Giovanni is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:48 PM
  #20  
dprantl
Super User
 
dprantl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,470
Default

Originally Posted by Giovanni View Post
Ooppps, sounds like its best to let a shop handle this...
Technically, there is no difference whether you are using R12 or R134A. All you need is the correct gauge manifold and the right freon. Charging is no different. With R12 you just have more $$$ to lose when you have a leak.

Dan
'91 928GT S/C 475hp/460lb.ft
dprantl is online now  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:55 PM
  #21  
Giovanni
Super User
 
Giovanni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,121
Default

But you need to be licensed to purchase and handle R12. Its a little easier to get help with R134A then it is with R12 IMO.
Giovanni is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Jumping A/C compressor ??


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: