Power Locks don't actuate with CWS button - 87 S4 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 928 Forum
Reload this Page >

Power Locks don't actuate with CWS button - 87 S4

Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Power Locks don't actuate with CWS button - 87 S4

Old 05-15-2018, 03:00 PM
  #1  
traxtar928
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
traxtar928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Default Power Locks don't actuate with CWS button - 87 S4

As the title says, my central warning computer module isn't actuating my locks. The key locks both doors, and manually turning the rotary **** on the door actuates the locks... but the button on the CWS doesn't light up or make the locks actuate. Any ideas for where to look first?
traxtar928 is offline  
Old 05-15-2018, 03:42 PM
  #2  
davek9
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
davek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 4,427
Default

I was troubleshooting a similar issue on my Gold 86.5, the lock button didn't work (have to look again if it lights up), anyway on my car the drivers door will lock both doors but not unlock them and the passenger door won't unlock both and will only lock/unlock itself w/key.
Started looking at the wiring in the doors and found a cut wire on the drivers door(left), aha I said, this one was easy

So I jumped the cut wire with an alligator clip jumper, closed the door and both doors locked themselves w/o me doing anything

note to self: Always work on the electric lock system with at least one window open
I removed the jumper and taped it back up, on my car I think the issues is w/in one of the motors, the linkage seems to be clear and free.

Dave
davek9 is offline  
Old 05-15-2018, 09:16 PM
  #3  
traxtar928
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
traxtar928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Default

For me, everything works but that button. It used to work... now it doesn't. Not sure what could cause that??
traxtar928 is offline  
Old 05-16-2018, 02:00 PM
  #4  
soontobered84
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
soontobered84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,682
Default

A frayed wire at the back of the dash piece that holds that button.
soontobered84 is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Power Locks don't actuate with CWS button - 87 S4


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: