Notices
924 and 931 Forum 1976-1988

What to lookout for when looking at a 924 Turbo?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2007, 09:07 PM
skeeter119
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to lookout for when looking at a 924 Turbo?

Hi everyone. I am a serious noob when it comes to Porsches and I am looking at a 1981 924 Turbo. I guess it is called a 931, correct? I stumbled across this car locally for sale by a guy I know vaguely. It is a decent price and the car seems to look solid but I need to go drive it still. Is there anything major I should keep a lookout for? I know timing belts are an issue with them because they are interference and I am pretty sure this car had a timing belt done fairly recently. Thanks in advance. I am sure to learn a ton of new things. I have always had a passion for the 924/944 cars and have enjoyed driving the couple 944s that I have driven.

Keith
Old 10-20-2007, 09:12 AM
924RACR
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 74 Likes on 59 Posts

Correct, the timing belt. Look also for water leaks or signs of, like damp/mouldy carpets. '81-82's are more desireable, due to the suspension (brake - same as early 944) and engine upgrades (turbo and engine management).

Look for a car that's been driven a fair bit; they don't like to sit, rust or varnish or dirt are not friendly to the fuel system. If it's not running, it should be cheap; to replace all possible parts in the fuel injection to get them running can and will cost between $1-1.5k (fuel pumps, fuel distributor, warm-up regulator, etc).

Don't expect to find a cosmetically good one; they all tend to suffer from cheap, poor-quality resprays, cracked dashes, faded carpet, etc. Expect to pay a premium for one that is cosmetically nice, even if not running.