Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Introduction / Idle issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2015 | 04:02 PM
Blubyu86
Track Day

Default Introduction / Idle issue

I am new to Porsche ownership. Going on a week now. I picked up a 1986 non turbo 5 spd. Car runs and has had about 4800 dollars worth of work done in the last 12 months (documented) timing belts etc. Power windows work, power mirrors work, a/c works, sunroof works, power seat works. Generally great shape just one issue. (at the moment) all gauges but the gas gauge working as well.

The car starts immediately, It is however idling rough below say 2200 and falls a bit flat on power above 3000 rpm. I have been doing lots of small things and followed all the vacuum lines, i removed the AFM tested it with a 9v battery and cleaned both contacts (on the arm and the strip in addition moved the arm so it now swipes on fresh contact are.

Results, no change. Still have the issue. Any thoughts on hat to try next? Thanks so much for any direction anyone can provide! Thanks!
Old 03-15-2015 | 11:56 PM
Tiger03447
Rennlist Member

It could be the TPS...check the throat of the throttle body and make certain that the scum ring behind the throttle blade is gone, check out the movement and cleanliness of the TPS unit as much as possible. Dirt & corrosion can be so troublesome if you don't catch it early on..Sounds like a great car though..Enjoy!
Old 03-16-2015 | 12:04 AM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Rough idle in our cars is usually (ordered most likely to least likely, re-order as you see fit based on work already done recently):

- bad motor mounts
- balance shafts timing off by a tooth... especially likely if it just had a belt job done recently.
- misfire due to cap/rotor, plugs, TPS idle position, AFM, FPR, etc.