Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wilson's thread

 
Old 03-15-2015, 12:38 PM
  #16  
odurandina
Slayer of Economic Optimism

Rennlist Member
 
odurandina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: one thousand, five hundred miles north of Ft. Lauderdale for the summer.
Posts: 27,479
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

one measly response?

Geebus what a bunch of turds.

besides, we're all crazy. otherwise we wouldn't be here.

pulling for Wilson to get his big boy v8 pants someday.
odurandina is offline  
Old 03-15-2015, 12:50 PM
  #17  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default



Thanks for the props bud!

This is quite amazing. Managed to get a 2002(year ?) piggyback harness which will allow me to turn (and diagnose). NEVER before installed. I've had some incredible help from Vitesse Racing in the US. They are a sponsor on Rennslist & have been charitable to WIlson. I lower my head in appreciation Vitesse. Thank you!

But a problem I never foresaw was the operating system requirements is Windows 98/XP. Anybody else use "perfect power" Australian brand of piggyback controller? Or the Vitesse piggyback?
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-15-2015, 12:56 PM
  #18  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am having 1 bit of problem with the wiring diagram. The 944 diagram is NOT on the perfect Power website, but they DID have one in their archives, and I'm very grateful they shared it with me. Here is my question after marking my ecm & the piggyback wires to match:

"Garth, that ecu pin layout is correct! I marked all my vehicles wires to match the SMT6 and ready to start splicing, except I am not sure about the diagram you sent me (specifically top right, showing:

SMT6 Pin 6
I
I smt6 pin 7
I ------------- tps signal brown
I
I
ENGINE



----------------------------------------


Okay guys, tried loading the PDF wiring diagram onto this thread but not happening. Can email if you like. Cheers.
Do I spice smt6 pins 6&7 together? (the factory ecu pin 6 is afm return & pin 7 is afm output). Link attached: http://www.the944.com/connector.htm

Thanks a million! So far I'm very impressed by your product & will start spreading the word on the Porsche forums."
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-15-2015, 02:39 PM
  #19  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I find the electrical suspicious on these cars. My mutilmeter read several "ghost" 12 volt sources, then with any load, they'd go away. That tells me the + needs a better ground. Then with the lousy/rich burning cold start... (the DME injector coolant sensor has been replaced), I find it interesting to note Ohio Tom's comment about replacing the terminals for improved cold start ups. All things to look into for sure.
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-15-2015, 08:19 PM
  #20  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OKAY. Feeling much much more at ease. Wilson's health was a concern last week. Then computer and piggyback compatibility issues drove my stress levels high. Had heartburn for 3 days.

But today I'm back on track.














So this is the Toughbook next to the compact modern laptop with Windows 8. Sure the black one is lightweight & smaller but I couldn't seem to hook up to the internet. And it wasn't compatible with my piggyback.
The nice things about it was: The screen is removable & has it's own battery. I was going to make a slick dash mount for it so I could view while testing/driving/tuning. Really I don't need that however & money is kind of in short supply this month.

Last edited by Noahs944; 03-16-2015 at 02:01 AM.
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-16-2015, 11:48 PM
  #21  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default


Gotta say, I slept like a baby last night knowing the piggyback ecu works & the laptop works. There is a mountain of reading I'm doing. Honestly, I'd kill myself if I was to try and learn Mega Squirt. Maybe 5-10 years down the road I'll have enough knowledge to fabricate a stand alone closed loop system, but for now I am much better off with a piggyback.

Here's me last night testing the software & ecu using the car's 12 volt source. Felt... relaxing.



Anyone know if I can use a wide band Lambda to be the load based throttle input?
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 02:15 AM
  #22  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This may be the answer I was looking for: http://perfectpower.com/index.php/12...on-note-an-3-9
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 02:46 PM
  #23  
HICKS
User
 
HICKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,013
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the thread, If I had the ***** to cut mine up, it would be similar to yours. I must have missed it, what are the mirrors from?
HICKS is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 08:50 PM
  #24  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 08:53 PM
  #25  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OK. The common answer is NO on the WBo2 as being a replacement for the throttle signal. I don't yet know why the factory TPS doesn't work as the signal. Haven't tried it, but that is the word.
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 09:09 PM
  #26  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

T. Ryan asked "Can u deviate from the 14.7?"


YES. Just don't know how yet. There are 22 wires on this piggyback. All you need to run the engine is 8. But the manual is so universal... it requires an understanding that I don't yet have.

To start I was thinking of keeping the Wilks chip in because it has the rpm limit raised to 7 grand, and my next cam will need that option. Also, I think Wilks has it pretty close to what I want already in terms of performance.

One of my first things to try isn't actually for performance but rather to lean out the start up mode. We're talking 10:1 & flooding out on a chilly fall/spring morning. I think its the DME coolant sensor harness thats at fault but if I can trick the ecm into thinking its warmer then hey, thats kinda a fun game to play until I repair it properly.

Performance is only half the reason I want this. The ability to see what the ecm is reading for values is another. For diagnostic purposes.

The WB02 has 2 wires I have yet to hook up. One is a narrowband 02 wire that I can tie into the Motronic. The other is 7:1-22.4:1 or something wide that I can tie into the piggyback. Not quite sure how it'll all pan out... every wiring diagram seems to be different, depending on the focus of the article, so I'm confused right now.*
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 09:27 PM
  #27  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

WOOHOO

Jon Milledge just gave me the Fed Ex tracking number for my BIG CAM. It's about the biggest I'll go. More mods required to make it work then my current JME bumpstick: This is what I'm putting in: http://jonmilledgeengineering.com/product/8sr-14/
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-17-2015, 09:29 PM
  #28  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

And this is what I have right now: http://jonmilledgeengineering.com/product/s3-14/


WHOOPS~ I previously had the wrong cam in this reply. Has been corrected now.

Last edited by Noahs944; 03-17-2015 at 11:35 PM.
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-20-2015, 08:18 PM
  #29  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default



Got some excellent used Turbo valves & valve springs for my NA.



Was hoping the intake valves from the turbo would be larger than the NA (since the part numbers are different I thought it was a possibility). Nope.



Midnight the cat has been project manager since day 1. He carefully inspects the Jon Milledge race cam that just came in the door. Start of a great weekend!!
Noahs944 is offline  
Old 03-20-2015, 10:56 PM
  #30  
Noahs944
Super User
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm no longer going to use the smt6. The program works GREAT in my laptop, but honestly I'm totally confused and my engine has been working fantastic with the Wilks chip & click 1. I'm worried that I'll damage my car with this tuner. Wish the instructions were SPECIFIC to my car.

I can follow specific instructions. But this is like taking a university course. Too much for this cat.

So its a mix of feelings: relief & regret. I will be selling the tuner.
Noahs944 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Wilson's thread


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: