Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Testing O2 sensor

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2003, 09:52 PM
C-C_Rider
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Testing O2 sensor

I happened to be talking to a mechanic friend of mine today regarding my rough idling problem and he suggested testing the O2 sensor. Apparently you disconnect the wires and run a test wire to the sensor, holding the other end of the test wire in your fingers while with the other hand touch the positvie terminal on the battery. The car should increase in RPM's and the opposite when you touch the negetive terminal. Have any of you ever tried this before? It sounds goofy to me but seeing as I'm no mechanic I just had to ask...
Old 08-28-2003, 10:02 PM
Bruce '89 s2
Racer

Tis a good thing we're talking 12 volts here.
Old 08-28-2003, 10:05 PM
C-C_Rider
Instructor

I told ya it sounded goofy to me Bruce! But, all in all... worth mentioning
Old 08-28-2003, 11:45 PM
MHT
Burning Brakes

that will test the car's ability to respond to a signal but will tell you nothing about the sensor itself. You grasp the signal wire to the ecu in one hand and touch the other hand to the pos batt. cable, this sends a rich signal to the ecu, you then ground the signal wire to the ecu. Ideally you would have a voltmeter hooked up to the O2 sensor wire and would watch the voltage swing from low to high as you changed from pos. to neg.
Old 08-28-2003, 11:58 PM
C-C_Rider
Instructor

Thanks for the reply, do you know of a credible way to test the sensor itself?
Old 08-29-2003, 12:29 AM
Terry Jamison
Instructor