Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

balance shaft tensioner

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2013, 03:23 PM
teleloco9
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default balance shaft tensioner

i picked up an 85 944. my balance shaft tensioner is toasted, can i just replace just it, both belts are in great shape. do i have to realign the balance shaft to the timing? thanks in advance, i'm new to the porsche world, ex audi guy.....although i still have my 83 ur quattro
Old 10-12-2013, 03:38 PM
william_b_noble
Burning Brakes

get a new tensioner. Set timing to TDC and then align the balance shafts to their timing marks and adjust the tensioner - DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN THE BELT!!!. with engine running at idle, set tension so the belt is just below the tension that makes the tensioner whine. you will be surprised how loose it is.
Old 10-12-2013, 05:43 PM
mytrplseven
Drifting

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts

The timing marks on the balance belt rollers can be misinterpreted. Read up on this on clark's garage before you jump into this. Setting the balance belt tension can be done by using the twist method. Twist the longest run by over 90 degrees (130 degrees will be best) and then you're there. If it whines a bit you can back it off a tic but don't be worried if it's only a slight whine.
Old 10-12-2013, 06:25 PM
teleloco9
AutoX

thanks for the input. i was gonna buy these tools unless i don't need to. i wanted to check the tension on the timing belt also. my audis were always 90 deg twist on longest run. my tdi is super tight though

http://eagleday.stores.yahoo.net/sptofor94.html

ill def read the procedure on clarks. thanks for the help!
Old 10-12-2013, 06:39 PM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Received 66 Likes on 48 Posts