Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944S2: valve/chain tensioner wears out?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2001, 10:14 AM
Bryan Welch
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 944S2: valve/chain tensioner wears out?

I just purchased a 1991 944 S2 with 136,000 miles on it and am learning how to maintain it properly, so please keep in mind I'm new to Porsche engines.

A porsche shop told me I should probably replace the chain (valve?) tensioner if it hasn't already been replaced, as if it fails considerable damage may result. I asked if this was the automatic tensioner of the timing belt, and was told this is not that but rather a tensioner that deals with the intake and exhaust valves.

Reading my notes, I'm a bit confused. Does this adjust the intake and exhaust valves automatically? Is this something that wears out and should be replaced after a while, like a water pump?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Bryan Welch
Old 06-06-2001, 11:46 AM
larrys944S2
7th Gear

the chain tensioner, makes the chain that runs between the inake and exhaust cam taunt
it has plastic runners on each side and if one breaks and falls off the cam chain can break and saw into the head which is no good by any means........i replaced mine last summer it wasent too bad you needd to remove the cams and timing belt but it would be a good time to check those lifters and do all that belt stuff...........have fun larry 89S2
Old 06-06-2001, 11:55 AM
Roy LaZelle
Racer

Lightbulb

There is a great procedure on the web with pictures and a description of the S2 Chain Tensioner. http://boerger.golden-tech.com/favorite.htm