Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No Start - Ignition Wire Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2012 | 02:44 PM
951Rooster
AutoX

Default No Start - Ignition Wire Question

Hey all,

Newbie here (relatively speaking), though I've spent quite a bit of time going over the threads on various issues. Never quite seen this, so I thought I'd ask the experienced crowd...

'87 951, random no start a bit ago. Background information that may or may not be helpful, car has an AFM Link control unit and the no start came after the battery had drained (old battery, sat for a bit) and I attempted (to no avail) to jump it. With no luck there, I pulled the battery, charged it, put it back in, and the car cranks all day but won't fire. I've run through a litany of the no start diagnostics from Clark's, as well as some helpful hints from the boards. Not a DME relay (swapped for a known good spare). Fuel pump runs properly (though I don't have a gauge to check pressure at the rail), can hear the injectors firing and I can smell fuel coming out of the exhaust when cranking, so I'm working on the assumption that fuel is being injected to the chambers - pressure could still be wrong I suppose. Speed/ref sensors appear ok via tach bounce when cranking and by checking resistance across the terminals at the DME harness. Wiggling connections changed nothing.