Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intermittent Fire

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 11:34 PM
Trav
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intermittent Fire

Hello I'm new to the 944 and forum world so I apologize if I'm not keen on etiquette I have googled and googled until my eyes burned countless nights. I just scored an 89' 944 because of a no-start and flex plate dampener issue. I started doing the normal checks spark fuel compression. When plugs and coil were replaced spark was attained, YES! Haha fuel is 31psi during crank (a little low recalling Clark calls for 36 +/- 3) compression is dead nuts 158psi across the board. I have pulse ( it didnt when i bought it, got a reman DME) injectors have power and appropriate resistance, new ref sensor, DME relay. Now I think it's as simple as fuel delivery pump and filter but before I throw parts at it again let me run the symptoms by ya. When I stop cranking it diesels like 2 or 3 cylinders, fuuhh fuuh fuh (sound effect). With the new computer I've gotten it to fire intermittently, almost rarely every 4 or 5 cranks but not regular like that. Possible timing issue ....? Thanks for any future help for the aforementioned
Old 10-19-2012, 12:45 AM
Rogue_Ant
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Small Business Partner

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Is the car consistently sparking?
Old 10-19-2012, 01:03 AM
Trav
AutoX

To be honest I haven't checked it in a few days... I determined I had spark then moved on- cap and rotor if its not consistant?
Old 10-19-2012, 01:06 AM
Rogue_Ant
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Small Business Partner

Cap & rotor is one thing.
The DME speed & reference sensors are another thing to check.

Fuel pump is something you can jumper:

http://www.clarks-garage.com/shop-manual/fuel-05.htm

So that would eliminate the fuel-pump from being intermittent.