Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cooling fans mystery

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2011, 11:46 PM
CatsEyes
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cooling fans mystery

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here but have been on the Pelican Forums for a while. (I put a different version of this post there.) I'm currently troubleshooting several electrical issues bequeathed me by POs. Home-wired immobiliser installed ham-fistedly; other odd bits of home-wiring. These have caused no end of troubles. And fixing them is fussy and time-consuming. Sigh.

First on the current to-do list, though, is a cooling-fan issue.

On my 1986 NA (RHD, Euro-spec) both cooling-fans come on full when I turn on the ignition, and stay on all the time. They turn off again when I turn the ignition off. But all that work is presumably going to kill the fans eventually.

I followed the trouble-shooting procedure at Clarks Garage:

http://www.clarks-garage.com/shop-manual/cool-01.htm

The results are these: they confuse me a bit.

When I jumper the fan switch connector terminals 2 and 3 one fan (only) comes on full-bore (the left or passenger side RHD). When I jumper terminals 1 and 3 nothing happens.

With the connector unplugged and ignition turned on both fans come on full-bore as usual.

With the air-con relay removed both fans come on as usual.

It's not clear to me from this if the problem is the fan relay in the fuse-box or the thermo-fan switch. It also strikes me from the above that there could be another possible issue: the wiring to the thermo-fan connector. But I'm not expert enough to be sure, and the fan relay is too expensive an item to purchase in error.

Any advice appreciated.