Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY Head Unit Install?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2011, 12:57 PM
SirLapsalot
Pro

Received 43 Likes on 33 Posts
Default DIY Head Unit Install?

Tried searching with no luck. Can anybody point me in the direction of a write-up for installing a basic aftermarket head unit on our cars? Mine is an 89 N/A with a very old aftermarket head unit that sucks. Stereo is the only system on an automobile that I have zero knowledge and experience with but I imagine it is that hard so id rather save a few $ installing myself.

Maybe all head units are different and there's no way to make a generic write up I don't know so educate me please! Also if it matters I already have a new pioneer unit that just looks like a basic $100 unit you might find in the best buy adds in the sunday paper.
Old 05-12-2011, 02:35 PM
alex
Almost Addicted
Rennlist Member

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

It isn't hard at all, and it is pretty universal for any car.

There are a few wires you need to concern yourself with coming from the head unit, you just need to figure out which is which and put it together:

Power lead- Red
Aux power- Yellow
Ground- Black
Antennae remote
Speaker wires

When you cut the factory harness, give yourself as much length as possible. It is not hard to push extra wire back behind the head unit, but it can be a real pain if you don't have enough length.

Use a multimeter/voltmeter ( you do this by trial and error with the stripped wires if you have to, but a multimeter is preferred) to figure out which of the wires from the factory harness is constantly on- you need a constant line to keep your clock & EQ settings when you turn off the car- and which is only one when the key is turned. I like to use bullet type terminal connectors so I can easily disconnect if necessary:

Attachment 535703