Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Time Clutch Job Advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2010, 01:32 PM
Kerry Chadderton
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Time Clutch Job Advice

Let me rephrase that. I've done maybe a couple dozen or so clutch jobs in my lifetime. I was an engine builder/machinist for 12 years. I know the basics and the normal clutch replacement techniques.

What do I need to know that is specific to the '84 944 when doing a clutch job? Tips? Shortcuts? Land mines?
Old 11-10-2010, 01:36 PM
JohnKoaWood
Nordschleife Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

IMHO, it is easier to pull the motor out than to drop the driveline..

Added bonus is the ability to take care of any nagging engine issues (leaks and such).

Yes I have done it both ways.

While it is apart slot the bellhousing at the speed / refference sensors for much easier adjustment of the sensors / installation of everything..

Consider doing the rear main seal while it is apart, as you would hate to have to take it all back apart again for a stupid seal.

I think if I had to have the clutch in my N/A done again I could have it knocked out in a decent weekend... taking lots of breaks.
Old 11-10-2010, 01:50 PM
Mike C.
Drifting

Run away! Just take your time whichever way you do it. If you have a hoist, I agree dropping the motor is easier. If not and you can't afford or don't have easy access to one, dropping the tranny using a rigged up hydraulic jack has been done many a time.
Old 11-10-2010, 02:10 PM
CorsePerVita
Pro

Have ALL the tools you need ready. Expect to replace things. It takes a LONG time to do it on an 84' (mine is an 84' and finished the job last night).

I even rebuilt my torque tube.

Things I had issues with...