Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OT: Website Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2002, 04:17 PM
btimes4
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post OT: Website Issue

I need some website help. My has opened her own business and I have created a website for her in Frontpage and leased her own site name. My question is I just have the website name. I have server space on my Verizon account to upload to a server, but I need to know how to get the Frontpage web that I load up to route to her address when someone types in the address. Need specifics since I am new to all of this, but now have a pretty good understanding of Frontpage. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 11-10-2002, 08:25 PM
icat
Race Car

I'm not 100% positive of the trouble you're having from your description. However, the domain name is just that - a name. You will need to have space on a server to "host" the web site (which it sounds like you do). You then need to contact your domain name registar and have the domain name "pointed" to the new server. You will need information from the web host provider (your server) to accomplish this step. Hope this helps.
Old 11-10-2002, 08:32 PM
SoCal Driver
Race Car

I have two "names" through Register.com and they have a "free" service that will re-direct from the website name to your home pages.

They do put a banner at the bottom.

Perhaps your register service can do this.

Otherwise it's as Icat says; you have to find a host and point the name.
Old 11-10-2002, 08:48 PM
icat
Race Car