Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quality of parts--question

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2010, 04:38 PM
Shameue
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quality of parts--question

Hi everyone,
I'm new to working on a Porsche 944 (or really any car, for that matter), but I'm in the middle of replacing timing belts, rollers, front engine seals, and motor mounts. It's going OK, but I've a few questions about parts. I ordered motor mounts form a company on ebay, Deutsche Parts USA. One of the mounts seems to be coming unglued over the lip and has a small tear near the rim where the rubber goes over. I'm talking to the company about it, but I'm wondering if I should have ordered a better make of mount to begin with, if these things matter.

Similarly, I've also ordered timing belt and rollers from another company, the import exports, and they use CRP parts. The tensioners--idlers don't spin freely (like the ones I'm replacing do, even the one with the bad bearings), they are slightly stiff. Is this normal for new rollers or are they supposed to wheel completely freely? Also, the tensioners etc., are about half the weight of the original porsche parts, which has me concerned too.

Now, I've obviously gone for these parts because they were a little less expensive than some others, and I'm fine if they're not quite as good, but still work fine and last a while. But I don't want to do all this labor to put faulty parts on my car either. Could some of you give me some advice about what I should consider? Are CRP parts worthwhile? What do I need to know about buying porsche parts?

Thanks very much

James
Old 04-09-2010, 04:55 PM
dv8nxs944
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Go with people who are more known in the 944 community. Thats what I would do.

http://www.paragon-products.com/Defa...p?Redirected=Y