Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Paragon AC compressor?

 
Old 03-18-2010, 01:36 AM
  #1  
Ziff951
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paragon AC compressor?

I'm starting to look into replacing my AC compressor...I looked on Paragon's site and they have the usual rebuilts, etc...in the bigger $$$ range and then 'their' compressor for conversion for like, $285 or so, plus a kit for $100...
Is this a good way to go? There aren't any pics or details..(it's late and I figured I'd check here for experiences)...it also says there are no service ports...what does that mean? Any advice would be appreciated..

I installed and entire Vintage Air system in my Land Cruiser by myself and it was easy...even charged it and it works great.... It seems crazy that just the compressor and drier could cost as much as the whole system in the Cruiser!...if I went with oem stuff....

Thanks,
Stephen
Ziff951 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:00 AM
  #2  
CurtP
Super User
 
CurtP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,059
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bought a refurbished compressor off of eBay for $150. It came painted silver and was pre-filled with the correct amount of oil. I didn't replace anything else - just the compressor. I pulled 30 in hg on the system for two hours and charged with 134a. It's been working fine going on two years. Heck, I didn't even install the HP 134a adapter - only the LP one down by the compressor.
CurtP is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:04 AM
  #3  
Luis de Prat
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Luis de Prat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 9,710
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CurtP View Post
I bought a refurbished compressor off of eBay for $150. It came painted silver and was pre-filled with the correct amount of oil. I didn't replace anything else - just the compressor. I pulled 30 in hg on the system for two hours and charged with 134a. It's been working fine going on two years. Heck, I didn't even install the HP 134a adapter - only the LP one down by the compressor.
Same here!
Luis de Prat is online now  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:33 AM
  #4  
PeteL
Got Nothin'
Rennlist Member
 
PeteL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,976
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I put a keuhl from griffiths in my car. No problems, cool for a Florida car.
PeteL is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:08 AM
  #5  
whalebird
Super User
 
whalebird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains NC.
Posts: 3,991
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I don't like the conversion compressors for fitment issues. You have to cut the original hoses and install a mounting adapter plate. It's a rig at best. The factory fitting compressors are much better/easier fitting if you can go that route.
whalebird is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:56 AM
  #6  
Mark944na86
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Mark944na86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia (Formerly: Sunnyvale, CA)
Posts: 2,120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I might try buying a refurb compressor off ebay. I got mine resealed just over a year ago (a cheapo job, just the seal, not all the other rebuild parts) and it's been good, but has just started leaking a bit recently. The reseal came with a 90 day warranty, and the rebuild with a full year, so I guess I shouldn't be too surprised.

BTW, aftermarket driers are much cheaper than the OE ones. I got mine (a Uro brand, IIRC) for <$20.
Mark944na86 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 11:13 AM
  #7  
PeteL
Got Nothin'
Rennlist Member
 
PeteL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,976
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by whalebird View Post
I don't like the conversion compressors for fitment issues. You have to cut the original hoses and install a mounting adapter plate. It's a rig at best. The factory fitting compressors are much better/easier fitting if you can go that route.
I did not have to cut any hoses. The compressor came with moutning brackets, etc. But no hoses were cut.
PeteL is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:12 AM
  #8  
Ziff951
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great info, guys! I'm on it....I'll let you know what route I take. Thanks!

Stephen
Ziff951 is offline  
Old 04-28-2011, 02:43 PM
  #9  
FabilichuS
User
 
FabilichuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway, Hordaland, Bergen
Posts: 302
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Anyone know witch vintage air system would work in a 944 without to mutch cutting ? Would be cool to have a AC that works good and keeps the cooling at the best. I got the 83 with no AC and its HOT as hell when its +15Celcius
FabilichuS is offline  
Old 04-28-2011, 03:07 PM
  #10  
pnbell
User
 
pnbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ballston, VA
Posts: 763
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Autozone has one for $400 Everco/A/C Compressor?

Anyone? I need to install a new one this year too... Found out mine leaks last summer after charging it..
pnbell is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: