Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What should the newbies know?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2008, 02:19 PM
Bomber
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should the newbies know?

I am new to 951 ownership and I enjoy working on my own car but have many questions. I originally named this post "Opinion of venturi delete", but it struck me that this particular question came up almost by accident. In my search for info, I have found a couple of things in a similar manner, as if by accident. I'm looking for an answer, it leads me in a particular direction and I end up "discovering" something else I had no idea was even a consideration. My question is if there are a host of "common knowledge" issues the folks who have been involved with 944's all know? I would think there would be, but because us noobs haven't been around long we don't know what they are yet. My original question about the ventury delete is an example. Why would I even question the idea of simply just replacing all my vacuum lines? Why or how is the venturi delete better? Same with waterpump upgrade. How would I know the original is inferior in someway to the updated version, if in fact it even is?