Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C conversion to R-134

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2008, 11:45 PM
m73m95
Nordschleife Master

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default A/C conversion to R-134

I have decided to address my A/C problems. Its already over 100F in Las Vegas, and my "windows down, sunroof up" thought isn't working as planned. I was quoted today for $250 for a shop to do the swap. Evac the old R-12, retro kit (??) and the new R-134 w/ PAG oil.

First off, I don't think this price is to bad, but I think I can do it myself cheaper....well, I KNOW I can do it cheaper. What do you guys think? I'm not worried about my ability. I was a mechanic in my youth (Just never worked on A/C). Also, I found another shop that will do it with R-12, and will only charge me a 1/2 hour of shop time and the price of the freon. Also, not to bad. But, I think in the long run, it would be better to make the switch to R-134

So my questions to you all:
1. Is switching to 134 going to work? Here in Las Vegas, it gets 120 petty often, and I do sit n traffic from time to time. Will it still be cold at an idle?
2. If I spend the money for the R-12, what are the chances it will last another 22 yrs? lol
3. I can do both myself (I'm sure I can find some freon) but is it worth my trouble for prob only saving 100 bucks? (After buying all the tools)

I know a ton of people on here have done both, and I have searched for a few hours now, but never really found a definitive answer.

Thank you
Old 05-29-2008, 03:34 AM
speedtek
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In Hawaii it gets in the upper 90's and gets d*mn humid!