Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm a graduate of the torsion bar academy

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2008, 12:59 PM
StoogeMoe
Rennlist Member

Received 146 Likes on 99 Posts
Smile I'm a graduate of the torsion bar academy

After taking the nine hour course, I graduated. As part of my suspension upgrade, the final step was to install new torsion bars and achieve a lower ride height. After reading all the scary threads about this being the job from hell, I don't think it was that bad, but still give it a solid 8 on the suck scale. I think the pain fades soon after the job is completed. If you ask someone while they're doing it, it probably gets a 10, and if you ask them two months later, it probably gets a 5. I guess the first time is the worst because you don't know what to expect, but that's probably true of everything. It definitely helps having a friend, especially while raising the whole thing back into the car. It's also nice that the stuff isn't really that heavy. You can muscle the pieces around fairly easily and I'm not a big jock stud. The bolts aren't that hard to loosen either. Something I ran into that I didn't see in any of the other threads was that my old torsion bars must have got water in them and they rusted solid to the end caps. It took a bit of penetrating oil and some strong whacking to get the cap off.

I can see why you don't want to use trial and error to index them properly. That's too much jacking up and down and fiddling. I used the spreadsheet which sort of worked. I didn't quite get the lowering I wanted. It was off by about 1/2 inch. I think my error was that I didn't disconnect the shocks first, so the unloaded measurement was a bit short. Oh well, that's what I get for not taking my time preparing for the course. Luckily the ride height eccentric was enough to compensate.