Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HOW TO: Replace Strut Inserts (Front Shocks) With No Alignment Loss

Old 07-08-2007, 03:47 PM
Yabo
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Lightbulb HOW TO: Replace Strut Inserts (Front Shocks) With No Alignment Loss

At least on early cars (I have no experience with late -- post 86 -- cars) you can do your front struts essentially keeping your alignment perfect, or pretty close.

Estimated time: 30 min to remove insert (for first timer)

1. Remove wheel.
2. Use 2 spring compressors, one on each side (please use heavy duty compressors, as to not injure yourself).
3. Compress Spring 1-2 inches (or enough that it's upper seat looks like it would clear it's spot in the upper strut mount.
4. Remove upper strut nut -- impact gun helps.
5. Using screwdriver, or some other form of pusher, push the top of the strut (where you just removed the nut) and compress it into the insert, all the way until it is out the bottom of the upper strut mount.
6. While the strut is compressed, tilt the sprint and strut assembly outwards in the wheel well, clearing the upper strut mount. The strut will tilt on lower ball joint and outer tie rod end joint.
7. Remove upper strut mount (4 bolts that hold it to the strut tower)
8. Move strut assembly back into the strut tower hole. Use channel locks, or stilsons wrench and undo the strut insert cap (move bottom boot to get to this). Loosen it all the way till it comes off.
9. Go back into the engine bay, grab top of strut through the shock tower hole, and yank it out. Insert will come out in your hand. (I put the nut back on the top of the strut to give something to grip to pull on.

Install is reverse of removal.