Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil burner - what is it?

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2006, 04:04 AM
ricalien
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil burner - what is it?

ricalien here from Los Angeles. New to the forums. I just picked up a 1988 944S Charcoal with tan int. I'm new to the 944, used to have a 924 but sold it. I've had the car for about a week and things have started to work on the car and overall it looks in good shape. I still don't know what all the buttons do in the car but it's fun to drive.

I've went through a tank of gas and it's going through some oil as well. Not leaking but far as i can tell right now about a Qt in a 150 mi.

What do you suppose i'm looking at here? Rebuild?

Any help would be appreciated. Rings, valves? How do i go aobut determining what the scene is? Compression tests?

The car pulls strong but has some ping, like gas knock when i lay into a bit.

Thanks
Old 01-11-2006, 04:05 AM
ricalien
5th Gear

oops think i did this wrong - sorry guys.
Old 01-11-2006, 04:26 AM
shmucklebuckle
Three Wheelin'

Welcome to Rennlist

Well, if you're burning oil, there are only so many places it can go. Do compression and leakdown tests. Check oil for coolant, coolant for oil. Other than that, I'm not sure what else to tell you to look for; someone else will chime in shortly, most likely. Let us know where you are so someone can offer to help out if you need it.
Old 01-11-2006, 04:44 AM
ricalien
5th Gear

Thanks alot for the Reply. I'm in Studio City (LA) California. That's what i figured, leakdown, check fluids as u mentioned. Couple shops around (TRE and Speed Gallery) Anybody use these???

What are we looking at if it's a rebuild?
Old 01-11-2006, 05:06 AM
shmucklebuckle
Three Wheelin'