Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remote switch will not open rear hatch - HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2006 | 02:10 AM
Joncadder
Track Day

Default Remote switch will not open rear hatch - HELP!

Hello all,

Newbie here. I just bought my 1987 944 NA a couple months ago and love it to death. Except for a few minor items, it has given me no trouble at all and I am now just chasing down a few gremlins.

Today's problem: the remote hatch switch will not open the hatch. The motor does not turn at all. There is clearance around the actuator. I have replaced the hatch release motor, and verified that there is voltage at the switch. (Yes, I verified this via the dumbass method: I slipped my paper clip and crossed the + and ground posts on the back of the switch. Result: a spark and a new fuse.) The hatch pins are the correct lengths and, after liberal greasing, now work smoothly and with little strain on the key. I checked the fuse and it is good.

I tried opening both doors, but the remote switch still will not work. The interior lights come on and the cigarette lighter works.

I have checked the threads here and they all seem to address mal-adjusted release pins and rattles but not the remote switch.

What else could it be? Has anyone else had this problem? The car is in such good shape, I hate to have something like this not working.

Thanks!

Jon

Last edited by Joncadder; 01-08-2006 at 02:17 AM. Reason: Tried a suggested fix
Old 01-08-2006 | 03:41 AM
sm
Drifting

It's likely that the contacts inside your remote switch are worn and not completing the circuit when you depress the switch. Get another used switch, off eBay or the like, and you should be good.

Same thing happened to me.
Old 01-08-2006 | 12:47 PM
triscadek
Addict
Rennlist Member