Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Temp and thermostat question

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2005, 09:27 AM
phil74501
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Temp and thermostat question

I have noticed that when I am in traffic, or driving through town, that the temp gauge rises pretty high. It may be a normal thing. I'm still new to 944's. The temp will rise to the the bar just below the red zone when I am stopped at a light. Is that normal? Would a better thermostat help? I'm not even sure what kind is in it. Thanks for any help
Old 08-05-2005, 09:38 AM
GlenL
Nordschleife Master

Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts

Is the cooling fan coming on? Got the A/C running?
Old 08-05-2005, 10:12 AM
hosrom_951
UAE Rennlist Ambassador
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by phil74501
The temp will rise to the the bar just below the red zone when I am stopped at a light. Is that normal? Would a better thermostat help? I'm not even sure what kind is in it. Thanks for any help
That is too hot, with a daily 110+F here and traffic, it sits on second white mark (80C) or just above that, even with ac on.

Bleed the system first, and yes check and see if the fans are coming on. There is a lower thermoswitch (for the fans) rated at 85C and a lower T-stat (rated 80C) you can consider for 'upgrading'.

Again, bleed the air first and take it from there.
Old 08-05-2005, 12:01 PM
ljibis
Instructor

My '86 n/a behaves pretty much the same way...after a lot of driving in hot weather traffic it will touch the top white bar, the fans will come on strong, and the temp will go back down. It goes up and down all day.