Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Completely stumped....fuel?spark?electronics?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2005, 11:39 PM
bob944
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Completely stumped....fuel?spark?electronics?

I'm posting here with the hope that you all can help me with any sort of advice....I'm out of ideas.

I have been battling a NO-cold-start condition in my '84 944 for many months now, and I still can't dig a fix out of all the archive info. No amount of cranking will get the cold engine started, but it WILL run after three or four tries with a shot of ether to assist. Once running, however, even the slightest hint at pressing the gas petal after the car barely sputters to life on ether will immediately kill it, and will continue so for about 4 or 5 minutes until the engine begins to warm up. It runs rough during this phase, but once the engine is fully warmed it runs, and idles just fine. The engine will restart with no problems for up to several hours afterward when engine has cooled, but after that time I must use a shot of fluid again. Note, the problem is completely independent of ambient temp/season, only the temp of the engine itself seems to matter.

Things I have checked (in somewhat random order):
-- DME relay and fuses
-- Brand new DME engine temp sensor
-- AFM meter readings seemed ok, but swapped with 2 different (used) parts to diagnose potential bad air temp sensor, but no change
-- Swapped TPS with used part and should be adjusted properly according to resistance readings.
-- Pulled cold-start-valve - seemed to work fine in freezer/12V test, blasted with lots of carb clean and reinstalled
-- Injectors were professionally rebuilt about 1.5 years ago and do not SEEM to be the problem - no big puff of smoke at start up to indicate a slow injector leak