Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions on 89' 2.7L DME/FI specs

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2005, 09:33 PM
AZ944x2
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Questions on 89' 2.7L DME/FI specs

I'm posting from the 944/944s group hoping to get a response.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For starters, I'm a new member and find this site detailed and very useful. I currently own two 944s and a 924. I'm the original owner of one of the 944s and the 2nd owner of the other two cars. I've been driving and working on Porsches for over 20 yrs so I may be able to help out with info from time to time.

I'm looking for three injection system specs for the 2.7L engine that I have installed in my 85 944 and hope someone in this forum can help.

First, what is the DME output voltage spec for pin 9 (supply or ref voltage to the Air Flow sensor)

Second, what is the resistance spec for the NTC I (pins 1 and 4 or the outer flat pins) of the Air Flow sensor.

Third, what is the specified voltage range for the airflow sensor output (pin 2 of air flow sensor) from full close to full open.

Background. I have an 89' 2.7 L engine. The DME unit is Porsche 944.618.121.06. My Porsche shop manual addresses the 2.7L eng but I think there are some DME specs that didn't get updated.

Specifically, there is a 15 point ignition check that covers several components. I find that the DME reference our output voltage to the Air Flow sensor (coming from pin 9 of the DME unit) is 5.0 volts. The spec according to my manual is > 8.0 volts with no mention of a difference btwn the 2.7 L DME unit and the other units. So I picked up a used 89' 2.7 L DME unit from a salvage yard and it too put out about 5 volts at pin 9. I checked my 84' unit and the output was 10.2 volts, right in spec.