Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gas smell from hatch

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2023, 06:15 PM
jfals82
7th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question Gas smell from hatch

I just purchased a 1984 Porsche 944. This is my first classic and excited to learn how to do my own repairs. Read I have very little knowledge or experience when it comes to cars.

I can see some gas leakage from the base of the fuel filler neck hoses as they connect to the gas tank. I'm hoping it is a matter of replacing the hoses and not a cracked metal gas tank. I've done my research and it looks like I need to drop the gas tank to complete this fix but that process looks daunting. Are there any initial steps I could take to alleviate the gas smell without removing the gas tank?

Thanks!
Old 10-09-2023, 06:38 PM
Zirconocene
Rennlist Member

Received 715 Likes on 510 Posts

If you haven't yet found Clark's Garage, it's an invaluable source of help for all kinds of work on these cars: http://www.clarks-garage.com

I don't know the early cars very well, so I can't comment reliably on what might be going on. However, depending on what the issue is, there is some amount of space back there to get to things and you may not have to drop the gas tank. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you, but you're in the right place for help and support.

Welcome! (And please post pictures of your car, that's always appreciated.)

Cheers
The following users liked this post:
jfals82 (10-10-2023)
Old 10-09-2023, 08:39 PM
Tiger03447
Rennlist Member

Received 147 Likes on 128 Posts
Default Gas smell