Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

a/c rebuild ignorance (long)

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2004, 01:46 PM
Porsche-O-Phile
Banned

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default a/c rebuild ignorance (long)

For those that haven't been following, I'm in the middle of rebuilding my a/c system including converting the compressor over to a Sanden unit as part of a (possible) r134a conversion (the debate on whether I should ultimately charge up with r12 or r134 still rages in another thread), along with two lines to the evaporator located up under the dash on the passenger's side. I'm curious about what the exact flow of refrigerant is through the system.

Bear in mind I've never worked on an a/c system before, so a lot of this is new to me: I'd like to know how the refrigerant moves around in the system so I have a better idea of what to connect where - nothing is labeled and the instructions that came with my Sanden kit are quite inadequate about anything other than how to connect the compressor to the bracket in the car.

Starting with the compressor: there are two lines on the new Sanden (and on the older Nippondenso it's replacing), a "big" connector that goes to a hose along the fenderwell, the firewall and ultimately to the evaporator. Coming back is the other hose I'm replacing: a smaller diameter one that goes to the receiver / drier. The receiver drier (little cylinder with sight glass) has another hose coming off of it that goes (I think) to the condenser, but I haven't traced it yet. Finally there's another line that comes off of the bottom of the condenser and back to the compressor.