Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just found out I'm getting laid off

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2004, 04:59 PM
jenket944
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Just found out I'm getting laid off

Things have been in a downward spiral here at work for quite a while. We've been losing a lot of proposals to other defense companies and the Commanche cancellation hit us real hard. We had 2 programs here supporting it. I haven't had an official assignment since last July, been getting tasks by the drink. Now it's a lot worse, it's gotten so slow that only a few of the guys in my dept have steady work. My mentor even asked me if I had anything he could help me with. I've been expecting a layoff for a few months, simply because I knew we had more engineers than work so I'm not surprised.

I did have an idea about taking an educational leave of absence, as I'm almost done with my MS degree in aerospace engineering. The thesis is the only thing left to complete. I approached the mechanical director about it and he said he'd get back with me. That was 2 weeks ago. I went to my HR rep and found out that I have to submit a request to my manager to start the process, so I went to see the analysis sub-section manager and his response was he didn't think it was the right solution to my situation. Before I could ask why not, he added that a layoff was coming and I'm on the list. He also said a lot of people are going to be let go and it will be soon. Tried to push him to tell me how soon, but all he would say is that it was in process.